All services are working Jul 31, 2021 🎉
Leoboost Blog/Instagram

Who blocked me on Instagram? Here’s How to Know

Did you ever ask yourself who blocked me on Instagram? What happens when you get blocked or when you block someone?

Every social media platform has a blocking option. Even though blocking someone seems like a passive aggressive act, everyone has the right to do it. Instagram is maybe the most private type of social platform.

With all your private images and videos being posted every now and then, many people can abuse it sadly, or use it against you.

There are many reasons behind why people are blocking someone. From feeling threatened to feeling stalked, or just cause they don’t like you or are not interested in your offers if you are a business owner. Jealousy also has a big impact on it.

No matter the reason, blocking someone is considered secretive, meaning no notifications are sent as a signal. The option to block certain users is a simple privacy feature that can be used by anyone, and it doesn’t necessarily mean that you’ve made a new enemy.

However, it doesn’t take much brain to figure out if someone has blocked you. In most cases, it’s pretty easy to get a sense of when someone might block you, after a break-up, or a fight or some insensitive post.

How to know who blocked you on Instagram?

When it comes to Instagram, you never receive any notification alerting you when someone has blocked you on Instagram. Then how to tell who blocked me on Instagram? It is not that hard.

If you’ve noticed that you all of a sudden stopped seeing someone’s posts and stories on Instagram, you may jump to the conclusion that the user has blocked you. But that might not be the reason.

It can happen that the user simply stopped posting or even deleted their account. There are a few ways to tell if you have been blocked or not.

If someone blocked you on Instagram, you would not be able to find their profile in the search bar. If you do manage to find their profile, you won’t be able to see posts from the account that has blocked you, instead you might see the message “No posts yet”, even though you can clearly see the number of their posts.

Another thing is that likes and comments from the account will disappear from all your posts. These don’t disappear just because that person has blocked you. And the last thing is that you will not be able to send DMs or receive any from the account that has blocked you.

So how can you reach them? Alternatively, if you don’t want to involve a friend to get in touch with the account in your name, you can always create a second Instagram account and find them that way.

If you are wondering if you can see a list of all the accounts that have you blocked, the simple answer is no. Without using some third-party app, discovering who has blocked you will require investigation.

Meaning you will have to manually search for that answer. That is because there is no readily available list of the accounts that have you blocked.

Reason for it is because Instagram, same as any other social media platform, has this as a private feature, and it stands in their Privacy policy in order to respect user’s decisions.
As we already said, everyone has the right to block someone.

who blocked me

How to block someone on Instagram?

If you are wondering how do you actually block someone on Instagram, not to worry, the way to do it is quite easy.

  • First you have to Search for the user that you want to block, which you can do from your followers list
  • Once you find them, enter their profile
  • Tap the three consecutive dots on the top right side next to their name.
    In the offered options, the block is shown as second.
  • Tap it, and then confirm it.

Easy right? However if you decide to unlock them after sometime, the steps for it are the same as if you would like to block them.

A small tip that we can give you is that Instagram also has an option “Restrict” which you can find below the option “Block”.

If you restrict someone: They won’t be able to see when you’re online or if you’ve read their messages. Their new comments on your posts will only be visible to that person, and you can choose to see the comment by tapping See Comment.

If you are not sure about blocking someone, maybe the option restrict would be better for you.